2012 Convention Schedule

9:00 am to 9:25 am: Breakfast and Registration
9:30 am to 9:35 am: Welcome – Elaine Almquist, Chair, Young Democrats of Massachusetts
9:35 am to 9:45 am: Marisa DeFranco, Candidate for United States Senate
9:45 am to 9:55 am: Remarks from John Walsh, Chair, Massachusetts Democratic Party
10:00 am to 10:55 am: Workshops
  • Vote Builder Training w/ Marcus Starr, Field and Data Director, Massachusetts Democratic Party
  • Effective Political Communication w/ Alex Goldstein, Executive Director, Together PAC

11:00 am to 11:55am: Workshops

  • How a Bill Becomes Law and How to Affect the Outcome, w/ Aaron Michlewitz, State Representative and Chair, Joint Committee on Election Laws
  • Fundraising w/ Josh Dawson, Executive Director, Steve Grossman Committee
  • How to do Campaign Advance w/ Roger Lau, Political Director, Elizabeth Warren for US Senate
12:00 pm to 12:40 pm: Lunch and Organization/Campaign Fair
12:40 pm to 1:00 pm: Invited speaker
1:05 pm to 1:25 pm: YDM Annual Awards
1:30 pm to 2:00 pm: Elizabeth Warren, Candidate for US Senate
2:05 pm to 3:00 pm: Panel Discussions
  • Running for Office as a Young Woman
    • Mayor Lisa Wong, Fitchburg
    • Danielle Gregoire, former State Representative, and current candidate for State Representative in the 4th Middlesex district
    • Kristen Uekermann, Brookline Library Trustee
    • Christine Barber,  former candidate for Somerville Alderman
  • Effective Field Strategy with Ashley Coulombe, Former Central MA Field Director, LT Gov. Tim Murray; and Chris Joyce, Field and Operations Director at Massachusetts Democratic Party
  • Social Media with Kevin Gilnack, Communications Director, Young Democrats of Massachusetts, Kevin Franck, Communications Director, Massachusetts Democratic Party; and Lauren Miller, New Media Director for Elizabeth Warren for US Senate
3:00 pm to 3:40 pm: Young Democrats Networking
3:40 pm to 3:55 pm: YDM Annual Report
4:00 pm to 6:00 pm: YDM Officer and Board Elections
7:00 pm to 10:00 pm: After party hosted by the Greater Boston Young Democrats*
*Host committee in formation